Book Review: Blur (Night Roamers) by Kristen Middleton

Blur

I don’t do vampire books.  I have my own personal reasons.  Mainly because I was stalked by someone who actually thought he was a vampire in high school.  For other book taboos, read my post here.

I loved this author’s zombie books (Zombie Games).  If you have read through this blog, you can see that I like zombies in general.  But since I thoroughly enjoyed Kristen Middleton’s writing style, wit, and humor, I decided to give the blood suckers a try.

And she did not disappoint.

I would reserve these books for the upper range of young adult.  I would say 16 and above.  There are some steamy scenes throughout.  Although I was reading the seedy sex scenes in Stephen King when I was 11 or 12, I would say use your judgement.

The main character in this series is Nikki who, along with her twin brother and her mother, move to a new town in order to escape her abusive father.

Something in the town seems off.  Some of the residents they meet have something different about them.  Gleaming white teeth.  Always wearing sunglasses.  They receive ominous warnings from other residents.  And there is something out in the woods that is watching them.

I really liked the suspense, the story, and how it flows.  I enjoyed trying to figure out who was who and what was what in the story.  I still don’t care for the vampire genre, but for this author, I will definitely make an exception.

I cannot wait for the next installment of the series.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: I gave in and read the “Twilight Saga” | The Eclectic Bookworm
  2. Trackback: Book Review: Sharp Edges by Kristen Middleton « The Eclectic Bookworm
  3. Trackback: Book Review: Shiver by Kristen Middleton « The Eclectic Bookworm
  4. Trackback: Books, books and more books!! « The Eclectic Bookworm
  5. atoasttodragons
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 13:17:44

    Interesting name for a vampire novel.

    Reply

Tell me what you think

