Book Review: Memoirs of the Walking Dead

Memoirs of the Walking Dead

I reviewed a very creative and fun zombie book this past week. Memoirs of the Walking Dead: A Story from the Zombies Point of View by Jason McKinney is an incredible book. Again, I reviewed via bookbloggers.net, I am not paid for the review, although I am allowed to receive the book for free.

This book follows the life and unlife of Paul. He caught the flu while out at a club when a chick barfed on him. He woke up a few days later…dead. His cat also died…and woke up. The book goes into extreme detail about what it is like to wake up dead. The rigor setting it, how to start moving again. The odor (kind of funny how they don’t mention that on my favorite TV show about zombies) and the hunger. New abilities and senses that aren’t afforded to the living. Then the book basically chronicles his time as a zombie.

In this book, the zombies are granted speech, their previous memories, and brain function, although some difficulty with speech, word finding, etc. He actually is dictating the book to the author who is supposedly his “slave” and is “chained to a desk”, the scribes anecdotes are hilarious. The dictating zombie also has a conscience and finds it distasteful to eat people he knows or innocents.

I loved the accounts of how the U.S. government reacts to the zombies, and the zombies reaction in kind. I also found certain sequences, for example, Paul’s return to work, incredibly funny and a commentary on state government bureaucracy.

Paul finds love at a feeding. Its nice to find out that zombies can find love too, over a dead body they are in the process of consuming. Ewww. The drama of Paul and Tracy continues throughout the book. I personally think he can do better, but I guess your options are limited when you are undead.

Overall, I found the book engrossing, fun and imaginative. A must read for any zombie-phile as I don’t think many books have been completely written from this point of view and to this depth.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Will I survive a zombie apocalypse? | The Eclectic Bookworm
  2. Jason McKinney
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 21:36:20

    Wow! Thank you for taking the time to read Memoirs and for reviewing it! I’m very happy to read that you enjoyed it. I’m planning on doing a companion written from a certain undead feline’s point of view.

    Reply

  3. Kristen
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 21:21:05

    Lol…this looks good. I’m gong to have to read it!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

