Ask a Book Nerd

© Chrisharvey | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

© Chrisharvey | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

The Eclectic Bookworm (at least the Amanda half) also writes for a site called I Read a Book Once. On this page, there are several other like minded folks who are just as nerdy as EBW.

Jonathan (the sites founder) has started a column called “Ask the Book Nerd”. He asked all of his contributors about the books that got them started in their book nerd pursuits.

Question:

Is there one specific book you read while growing up that you can point to as the reason you have become an avid reader? If yes, what was it? If no, what prompted you to become a reader?

Answer:

When I was 11 or 12 I read my first book by Stephen King, and I was hooked.

I read the complete unabridged version of The Stand. I was mesmerized. The entire concept, the character development, the battle between good and evil, it all fascinated me. In the nearly 20 years since I have always been in search of books that captivate me in the same way.

I took a hiatus from my King fest after I read It, and to this day I am cautious when walking near sewers and I hate clowns.

I finally went back to King last year read 11/22/63, and followed soon with Under the Dome. He has softened around the edges a bit, but he is still my favorite author.

You can read the answers from the other Book Nerds here.

What about you, is there one book or series that you can pinpoint as your “jumping off” point in reading?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. charliegirlteachergirl
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 18:22:02

    Is there one specific book you read while growing up that you can point to as the reason you have become an avid reader? If yes, what was it? If no, what prompted you to become a reader?

    Is there one specific book? I really don’t know. I remember in upper elementary school reading the Sweet Valley High series (and I naturally wanted to be thin and beautiful just like them!) and the Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder, originally published between 1932 and 1943. I think the fact that in the summertime I could watch many LHOTP episodes, starring Michael Landon, with my grandmother increased my love for these books and this era. I reread the books several times.

    But I know there was another very strong factor in this, around the same time (4th grade). There was a severe upset in my family, involving accusations, police and child protective services. My cousin, older than me by four months and often thought my twin, was removed from my life by a very selfish, irrational, greedy mother. She was my best friend, and at the time I didn’t really understand what was happening; all I knew was that my best friend was gone…and at age 9 or 10, I knew she wouldn’t be back in my life until she was free from her mother’s influence.

    With my best friend gone, playtime wasn’t so appealing anymore to a girl who spent her time in the middle of nowhere on her great-grandparents’ homestead. Summers became utterly boring and lonely. So I turned to books. I would get lost, go places and do things I probably never would or could in my life. But I did, through books. And no one, absolutely no one, could take those feelings, places or experiences away from me. That is how and why I became a lover of books and written word.

    Reply

Tell me what you think

