Book Review: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

hobbitpic

This post was written by Amanda’s bonus child, Christian (age 11), who  had to read and review a book for a school project.  Thanks to Patti Sheehey for sharing her copy:

I read the book the Hobbit by J.R. R. Tolkien and I loved it.  I thought it was really unique book.   The idea of being in another world was awesome. There were elves and trolls and it was cross-over between fantasy and adventure. I also liked how the author was really descriptive, he would describe every little thing. It made the book even better.

The action parts in the book were amazing.  There were parts where I couldn’t stop reading. The things that the group fought were hard and huge. The trolls that they fought were huge and dumb, the spiders they fought with almost killed them. Plus the goblins were ugly mean things. The ending was really surprising but I liked it.  I didn’t think that there was going to be a big battle scene because the main villain was dead but there was. It was a really good ending.  It was action packed and I liked how the different teams got together to kill the goblins.

While I was reading the book I saw the movie. But the movie had huge differences like characters that weren’t in the movie at all and the movie added people who weren’t in the book. But there was also a part that I didn’t like when Bilbo and the group were traveling it got really slow in some parts but there were cool parts. I liked how they had to fight to progress with the journey.

I would recommend this book for people that like action, adventure and fantasy.  Overall, I think it is worth the time to read.

If you have any books for middle school boys that you would like Christian to review, send an email and we can get you set up.

–AA

 

Tell me what you think

