Book Review: Schrodinger’s Gat by Robert Kroese

gatpic

The author generously sent me a Kindle copy of this book for review.  Here is the synopsis:

Schrodinger’s Gat is a quantum physics noir thriller. Paul Bayes has begun to feel like all of his actions are dictated by forces beyond his control. But when his suicide attempt is foiled by a mysterious young woman named Tali, Paul begins to wonder if the future is really as bleak as it seems. Tali possesses a strange power: the ability to predict tragedies and prevent them from happening. The possibility of breaking free from the grip of fate gives Paul hope. But when Tali disappears, Paul begins to realize that altering the future isn’t as easy as it seems: you can fight the future, but the future fights back.

I’ve been reading a ton of sci-fi lately (see my recent reviews on “About Time” by Michael Murphey).  Like Mr. Murphey’s book, Schrodinger’s Gat reminded me of Stephen King’s 11/22/63.  But in this case, it appears that the future is stubborn as well.

I am a huge fan of Mr. Kroese’s earlier works, most notably the Mercury series.  This book is different in that it is darker (hence the “noir” part of it) and more scientific where Mercury is religious.  It is more sarcastic, more vulgar, written in a more contemporary tone.

Throughout the book, Mr. Kroese explains various theories in quantum physics and philosophy.  Prior to reading this book, I had heard of the idea of Schrodinger’s cat, I just never really given it much though.  I wouldn’t have passed physics in high school if it wasn’t for my lab partners (Hi Jeff & Chris!!  Thanks for saving my ass!!).  But Mr. Kroese infuses his trademark wit with his explanations:  “I’m no expert, so don’t come bitching to me if I get this slightly wrong and you end up with a dead cat in a box”.

Also, there are several sections where Mr. Kroese warns the reader that the next few pages might make their eyes cross.  At first, I tried reading through it.  But, my eyes eventually did cross, and I started taking the advice when I would come read the words “SKIP THIS PART” and take it back up when I encountered “OK, START READING HERE”.

The knowledge imparted in these sections isn’t crucial to the main story, but if you want to know the theory behind some elements of the story, it is provided for you.

As always, Mr. Kroese provides memorable characters.  The protagonist isn’t a hero, isn’t some all-knowing being with swagger and panache.  He’s just a regular guy who was trying to end his crappy life when the female main character intervened.

And Tali, she is very interesting.  Extremely intelligent.  She understands the broader implications of what she and her mentor are doing.

I also liked the element of mystery, how Paul is just trying to see Tali again and gets swept into the larger scheme of things.  How he ends up being an active participant in the entire future predicting business.

Overall, a very interesting read.  I feel more intelligent for reading it.  Like always, Mr. Kroese kept me entertained even with a subject completely out of my depth.  Again, it centers on a good story.  And this book has that and more.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Update!!! | The Eclectic Bookworm
  2. Trackback: Book Review: Starship Grifters by Rob Kroese | The Eclectic Bookworm

Tell me what you think

