Author Interview: Christie Rich

dreamscape(1)

Christie Rich, author of Dreamscape

3211741I grew up daydreaming about fairy tales  and my love for discovering new worlds has never died. I am not one of those writers who always knew I would write. I thought that was what other people did until one day a few years ago, I took a challenge from a friend and typed my first words. My journey has been wonderful, and I cannot imagine a day where I would ever give up writing. My love for reading is what fueled my imagination in the first place and still does. When I am not writing or reading, I am enjoying family time with my husband and two children. I also dabble in painting but writing has taken over my creative time right now.  I hope to get back to it at some point in my life, but I’m not sure when I’ll have time for it.  My family and I live in a quiet community  in Northern Utah, and I am so thankful for the rich life I have been blessed with.

A friend got you started writing by issuing a challenge. What was the challenge from your friend that eventually got you typing? How did this evolve into writing novels?

I hate to admit this, but I went a full ten years without reading anything at all. My life was busy with starting a family, and I had so much to do, books were the last thing on my mind. I was taking a business trip alone and asked a friend if she knew of any books I could read.

She told me about a vampire book that was supposedly amazing. She couldn’t really explain the book well to me, but I ended up buying that book. By now, you probably know I’m talking about Twilight. Love or hate it, for me, it will always be special because it was the book that started me reading again, which, in turn, fueled my imagination.

This same friend told me all the time how much she wanted to be a writer. I thought that was great, but I had no desire to write. In fact, I never really tried it outside of high school. So when I had a character come into my mind and tell me about an amazing world, I was intrigued. I let my mind wander on my way to and from work and eventually had a complete concept for a story in my head.

I didn’t know the first thing about writing, so I went to my friend and tried to give her my story. She looked at me in the parking lot of the movie theater where we saw Eclipse together and told me if I had a story, I needed to write it.

The idea of Rayla’s story not being told was traumatic to me. I couldn’t live with that, so I started typing and eventually had a solid story I was happy with.

How did you decide to make the move into becoming a published author?

It was really never an option not to publish my Elemental Enmity series. I wanted to share the story with the world, so I researched the industry, queried agents and eventually learned what I needed to to make my dream a reality.

What do you want readers to take away from reading your works?

Emotion. I want readers to get sucked into the world and either become the characters or stand right next to them along their journey. Reading is all about emotion for me and I want my readers to have an amazing experience. I want them to feel like they’ve lived another life when they are done with my books.

What do you find most rewarding about writing?

The experience of writing is amazing. I feel like a detective searching out clues that eventually uncover the nuts and bolts of a story. Some things come very easy, while others require hours of research. Both parts are amazing.

What do you find most challenging about writing?

Time. I’d love to have more time to write, and maybe someday that will happen. Until then, I do my best to write every day, even if it is only a few minutes after work. Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night and need to write. It’s hard when an idea hits me and I’m at work or fixing dinner, but somehow, I manage. No matter what, it’s worth it.

What authors do you like to read? What book or books have had a strong influence on you or your writing?

There are so many authors I love, but I’d have to say that J.K. Rowling influenced me the most. I loved the depth of her world and the intricate connection between characters.

C.S. Lewis was the author that made me believe in magic, and Jane Austen made me believe in love.

As far as authors I like to read right now, I’m really involved in a few series. The Premonition series by Amy Bartol is fascinating and I am holding my breath for the next book. The Stained series by Ella James has sucked me in within the last few months. I’m on book three and loving it. Nancy Straight’s Touched series is such a refreshing change from the standard paranormal creatures. I’ve gained a new love for Centaurs, lol.

Could you describe the mundane details of writing: How many hours a day to you devote to writing? Do you write a draft on paper or at a keyboard?

Sure! I write mostly at a keyboard. I can’t really get into writing on paper. The ideas flow more easily on a computer.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Not really. I write when I can, lol.

Dreamscape isn’t your first novel. You’ve published a four-book series, Elemental Enmity. How did you make the switch to start on this new series, Netherworld?

I was writing the last book in my Elemental Enmity series when the main male character from Netherworld invaded my mind. He was such a different character it was easy for me to keep the two separated. I eventually had to put him on hold to finish Horizon, but once I was finished with Horizon, he was back, telling me this amazing tale about worlds within worlds and good versus evil.

What are you reading right now? 

I have a few books going right now. Stolen, book two of the Stained series by Ella James. Silent Orchids [The Age of Alandria series] by Morgan Wylie, which I’m really enjoying, and I just started Into the Spiral [The Spiral Defenders series] by Erin Danzer.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’d love to! I’m working on the second Netherworld book. I had a name picked out for it, but I will probably change it because it sounds too science fiction. This book continues where Dreamscape leaves off and the world gets deeper with each sentence I write.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you!!! For taking a chance on a new author and for being so great to me. I love to hear from readers and I have made so many new friends since I started writing. I have readers all over the world now, which is so amazing. I love to see how similar we all are, no matter where we live or grew up. There are just so many kind and loving people I’m so thankful for and I’m so happy I’ve met them.

And thank you so much for having me here today, Charlie! I loved answering your questions!

Follow Christie on Twitter or add her on Facebook.

Enter for a chance to win!

cbb(1)

There is a beautiful necklace custom-made by Primal Painter along with a signed paperback copy of Dreamscape. There is also a second prize of a $30 gift card.  Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway to win!

Thanks for stopping by The EBW blog for the Dreamscape tour! This tour is hosted by CBB Book Promotions and you can find the tour page with the schedule and links HERE.

-CA

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. candacesbookblog
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 11:31:01

    Thanks so much for hosting a stop on the blog tour!

    A lot of people started reading because of Twilight. I have to admire those books for that reason, it really changed things. That and Harry Potter. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Christie Rich
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 07:21:02

    Thanks so much for hosting me today, Charlie!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

