Book Review: Undying by Valerie Grosjean

51GCzhl1mXL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-63,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

 

Yay!!  A zombie romance!!!  I have been on a zombie kick lately, brought on by The Walking Dead and Halloween.  So I naturally gravitated to this book.  The author kindly gifted me a kindle copy, Undying.

Here is the synopsis:

This is a story of love . . . and zombies.

When eighteen-year-old college freshman Christian discovers his dormitory is crawling with the living dead, he knows he has a problem. But once he learns the whole country is overrun by the flesh-eating horde, he must race to protect what matters to him most.

Sixteen-year-old Iris, the girl he loves, is stranded eighty miles away, alone and completely unaware of the gruesome threat surrounding her.

Christian’s plan is to evade the zombies, drive the distance to rescue Iris, and get them both to his family farm–where there are guns, fuel, and everything else they’ll need to survive. His mission seems simple: Get the girl, get to the farm, and stay alive.

Things get complicated when Christian is forced to make an unthinkable choice between Iris and his family. Someone he loves must die, and he must decide.

If you have read this blog before, you know that I love zombies.  I credit my bonus child, Christian, with getting me started when he made us watch the first season of The Walking Dead a few summers ago.  I didn’t start getting into reading zombie stories until last year with the Zombie Bible series.  I have since devoured most zombie books that I can get my hands on, including the mainstream ones.

This book was a bit different.  It was a zombie story with a romantic theme.  Plenty of the zombie stories I read feature love stories as a side plot, but this book has that plotline front and center.  And I loved it.

Christian has never revealed his feeling for Iris.  He just kind of shoved them down.  He is planning on telling her when he goes home for the weekend, but then the zombie apocalypse happens.

The love story kind of mimics my own (second) marriage.  My husband and I were the same age as Christian and Iris.  We had feelings for each other, but we didn’t want to do the long distance thing.  Then life happened, and we were unable to tell each other our true feelings until we were damn near 30.  So I identify readily with the love theme.

The zombies are typical zombies.  The vector of transmission is plausible.  People “turn” very quickly, so the apocalypse happens overnight, rather than over a few days or weeks.  This definitely lends a sense of panic to the story.

The gore is typical zombie gore, but it doesn’t go overboard in the description of the mutilations.  It isn’t stomach turning.

I love the character of Christian.  He is amazing.  He is strong, capable and sensitive.  He knows what needs to be done and makes the hard decisions.  He’s a great leader.

I don’t know enough about Iris to make the same conclusions.  But if Christian loves her, she must be special.

The action is intense. It is a page turner.  There aren’t any parts that lag or don’t make sense.  The author also knows where to stop the minute by minute recall of events and let the plot flow.  Very much appreciated.

I can also tell that the author is a bit spiritual.  That is implied with Christian’s mention of heaven, his overall demeanor.  But it isn’t the focus of the story and it isn’t rammed down the reader’s throat.  In fact, it makes Christian more appealing.

I will be eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.  I truly enjoyed this read and I finished it in one night.  Valerie Grosjean is an excellent story-teller of both the zombie genre and the romance genre.

I also stopped by her blog and I was fascinated to read about her writing process.  That is also good reading if you are so inclined.

And this book is 99 cents on Amazon today.  You don’t have a valid excuse NOT to get it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Amanda’s Favs for 2013 — Part One | The Eclectic Bookworm

Tell me what you think

