Book Review: The Roundup by Coty Justus

Roundup

This is book three in the Birthrights series.  This one is probably one of my favorites in the series.  I absolutely love the characters and the action and the description of the locations used in the book.  Here is the synopsis:

Sliced from her dead mother’s womb by a reclusive wildlife conservationist, Penny is lovingly raised in seclusion in the mountains of western Wyoming. Because there are those who wish her dead, she must always hide. When her guardian angel dies, leaving her alone at the age of twelve, she waits eight years for the one she knows will eventually rescue her. 

When Matthew sees Penny in a chance encounter at a gas station, he knows she is for him, but by the time he is able to turn his vehicle around, she is gone. For the next year, Matthew searches for his mystery woman. Finding her proves easier than keeping her, though, thanks to the contents of a leather tote.

I absolutely LOVE Penny.  She is funny, she is sweet and she is so good with wildlife and animals.  Her relationships with her animals is so precious.  She reminds me of my daughter, who loves animals as well.  And she is so innocent it is endearing, not annoying.

One aspect of the series I haven’t mentioned in any of my reviews so far is the character of Alicia.  She is interesting to say the least.  She is the mother of all the Stanton boys, and is fiercely protective, to the point of turning her back on her birthright in an effort to “protect” them.  She often makes wrong assumptions about the things she witnesses or the messages she receives from her goddess.

I also want to point out the unique quality of this religion.  I’m not well versed on other religions other than the usual judeo-christian based ones, so I have no idea if the one in the book is actually based on an actual religion, but I love it.  It’s not really a religion, per se, but more like a way of life.  It is a birthright.  These women are born of a bloodline of women with powers.  There are codes, of course.  And their duties are to propagate  and teach the next generation and battle the “one who is many”.  There are other members of “The Ten” who have gone “dark” that is to the dark side.

Again, I love the love story.  When these women find their “chosen” it is love at first sight.  And it is all consuming.  I love stories like that.

In particular with this story, as with The Stronghold, I love the incorporation of Native American culture.  With the fantastic descriptions of the landscape during Penny’s journey in this book, I really want to head to that part of the country.

Another things that I love as this series progresses is the relationships that grow among the women as the stronghold expands.  The friendship with Odessa and JB, how they welcome Penny with open arms.  How they care for each other and their children.  Very inspirational and much needed in a world where women usually stab each other in the back.

This book is probably up there with my favorites in the series.

 

Tell me what you think

